The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 10-13-2019, 11:46 AM

Default Is it possible to be a good player,

And know nothing about music? I’ve been playing for about 18 months and I’m pleased with my progress. My fingerpicking has improved and I find its easier to learn more songs. I do know learning songs has never been easier since YouTube, but am I being held back in my progress from being totally ignorant about not being able to read music, tabs or anything else that applies to playing an instrument? I know my chords, but that’s about it. I’ve been more worried about learning songs than actually learning guitar. If so where should I start my education and how in-depth should I go? I’m never going to be in a band, I will forever be a couch player. Thanks

Taylor GS Mini
Martin 000-15M
Old 10-13-2019, 12:07 PM
Charter Member

Short answer? Sure... it's very possible to not delve into any sort of theory or reading notation (tab) and be a good player... I assume when you say "know nothing", you're referring to music theory and such...

Certainly, knowing a bit about "why it works" and how to read chord charts will make it easier for you to learn more songs and also to connect with other players, should the occasion arise, but it's not necessary.

I consider myself an advanced player, a professional... and I don't read tab, not one bit, and my sightreading notation (you know, the little golf clubs on the lines?) is about at second grade level... neither of those things hinder me in the slightest. I DO know a good deal of theory and harmony, and that has been a boon for my songwriting as well as my overall level of play.