The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 10-10-2019, 03:44 PM

Default Kramster - AKA Carbon Fiber Gateway Enabler

I recently spent an afternoon with Kramster who is a stellar, generous individual. Me being a CF noob, I was very pleasantly surprised at the tone of today's instruments.

I played an Emerald X20, X30, a Blackbird Savoy, a couple 3 RainSongs (CH-WS, OM, and an older model) and a McPherson Sable and Touring.

All I can say is "wow". So that's what I've been missing. Here in AZ, the land of low humidity, a guitar that one can leave out on a stand all year round makes all kinds of sense.

Thanks so much to Kramster for his hospitality and being a guitar 'bro! I had a blast - there's far worse ways to spend an afternoon than noodling on guitars and BS'ing with a buddy.
Old 10-10-2019, 04:11 PM
Charter Member

So, what caught your eye the most, sixx?
Old 10-10-2019, 04:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerbie View Post
So, what caught your eye the most, sixx?
I was impressed by the Emerald guitars' ergonomics. They're really quite beautiful and the arm and body bevels really make a large guitar kinda disappear. I'm about 5'10", and I could have sat and played the X30 all day long quite comfortably. And hit an open "E" on the X30? Oooooh mama...I think it made the windows rattle.

A direct comparison between the guitars is hard, because some had different strings, different string ages, etc. And I will say that I would play one, then Kramster would play it so i could hear it from an audience perspective and every one of them sounded good sitting in front.