The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 08-15-2022, 09:24 PM
Charter Member

Default Bulk strings - any disadvantage?

Friends, two days ago I replaced D'Addario XT's with XS (12-53) on my Merrill OM, and absolutely love them. I hear no new string harshness. The resonance is balanced from string to string, with deep lows and liquid highs. I have never tried a fully coated string before, and was surprised how pleasant they feel under finger. In short, my new go-to string.

So I went back to Amazon where I bought the single set for $17.99 US. But I also saw that they come in a box of 25, at a substantial savings. At $240.29, the per set cost plummets to appx $9.60.

Never having purchased strings in bulk, is there any disadvantage?What comes to mind is the freshness of strings that may not be used for over a year. The description indicates:

"The specially designed Bulk Shop Box is made with a resealable tube housing, allowing players, luthiers, and techs to access strings with ease, while also preserving string life."

Honestly, I do not know what this means. But, it rather sounds like all the strings are exposed and protected only by a resealable conduit.
I was wondering if anyone has purchased strings in this fashion, and whether the way D'Addario packages them does, in fact, preserve them for a year or more. To knock off more than $8 per set is a remarkable savings, but only so long as the strings do not deteriorate in the meantime.
Thanks all.
David

Last edited by Deliberate1; 08-15-2022 at 09:39 PM.
Old 08-15-2022, 09:38 PM

Default I cannot answer, but

I’m very interested in what others say. I had my Taylor setup locally and they strung it with the same and I like them a great deal. They play as good or better than Elixirs.
Old 08-15-2022, 11:06 PM
Charter Member