The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 06-30-2014, 05:52 PM

Default Home recording help

Hey all! I'm new to recording, I've been acquiring a small home setup over time and was wondering of any suggestions for optimizing my recording with what I have or if there is possibly anything additional I should get.

Right now my setup consists of:
Cole Clark fl3 fed into JDI box
MXL V67G mic
Both are fed into Scarlett 2i2 AI which I record and edit on my computer (reaper or garageband)

One specific question I had was whether I should record the guitar over both the mic and the pickups?

Thanks in advance!
Old 06-30-2014, 06:20 PM

Can't help much, but I have read that recording both DI and mic'd is a good idea. Then you can blend them together in the mix to get a better sound. Have you heard of Tape Op?? Free recording magazine. Great reading, even if I don't fully understand most of it.
Old 06-30-2014, 07:26 PM
Charter Member

This depends on the sound you want. The best sound *usually* comes from a mic - and even better, 2 mics, in stereo. Even the best pickup sound usually pales in comparison to the worst mic. But some people do blend in a pickup, sometimes it creates a more direct punchy sound that could be what you want. Some studios record a pickup as a "safety" in case something went wrong with the mic. In some home studios you have too much noise or such bad acoustics that the pickup ends up being a better choice. These days, you do even hear commercial recordings sometimes recorded with pickups - that "quack" sound has become a feature for some people. It'd be easier to make decisions if you have a goal - some tracks you'd like to sound like. Then go from there to figure out how they got the sound. Or just record something and see if you like it. Lots and lots of experimenting is usually the key.
Old 06-30-2014, 07:54 PM