The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 01-04-2022, 11:49 AM

Default What DAW for Mac and Why?

I'm recording fingerstyle guitar and I'm wondering what DAW others are using and why they chose it.

It looks like the two logical or best choices for MAC are Reaper or Logic Pro.
Reaper looks pretty good for less $ but Logic Pro seems like the logical progression from GB since it's so similar. (no pun intended)

Current set-up is -
- (2) AKG 451B mics
- Apogee Duet 2
- MacBook Pro
- GB

Thanks! Looking forward to your thoughts.
Old 01-04-2022, 12:13 PM
Charter Member

I think it's probably a toss up, and you might have a larger support community with Reaper, but if you've done a lot with GarageBand, and ever want to import those mixes, Logic Pro is probably the only DAW that can do that.

I think Logic Pro is a great, still only $200, though up front more than Reaper, I've been using it since 2013, which is like $25/yr, so a pretty good deal.

Whichever DAW you get, at least of those two, the cost will probably look pretty small if you start buying higher end plug-ins.
Old 01-04-2022, 12:21 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Koda View Post
I'm recording fingerstyle guitar and I'm wondering what DAW others are using and why they chose it.

It looks like the two logical or best choices for MAC are Reaper or Logic Pro.
Reaper looks pretty good for less $ but Logic Pro seems like the logical progression from GB since it's so similar. (no pun intended)

Current set-up is -
- (2) AKG 451B mics
- Apogee Duet 2
- MacBook Pro
- GB

Thanks! Looking forward to your thoughts.
if you look at the AGF Members Gear Masterlist and Recommended Tutorial Videos thread sticked at the top of this subforum, there is a list of DAWs used by members here in the order of their popularity.
2015 Circle Strings Parlor shedua/western red cedar