The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 09-16-2015, 06:20 PM

Default I will not let Bm defeat me

About a year ago I was trying to force myself to learn how to play a Bm chord cleanly. For a while I thought I had it licked and then I started having difficulty playing it cleanly again. So instead of being persistent I either started to avoid songs that had a Bm in them or changing the key so I wouldn't have to play a Bm.

This week I rediscovered a song that I have always liked, "Girl From the North Country". It is a simple song with only three chords, and one of those chords happens to be Bm! So I just sat down and played those three chords over and over and over again. I did not sing the lyrics, I just played G Bm C, G Bm C, etc, until the transition from G to Bm sounded good. And then I played it some more. After that I played G Bm C over and over again. Next I started playing "I Shall Be Released" which has the chords A Bm C#m (which is the same as a Bm except it is on the 4th fret) and E7. I played that over and over and over again.

I am feeling really good about the way it is going.

Tomorrow I will do all of that again.

I will not be defeated.

Kate Wolf

Epiphone Hummingbird Studio
Martin 000-10e
Old 09-16-2015, 06:29 PM
Charter Member

I don't think simply playing the chord over and over again is the answer.

Make sure the guitar setup is decent, especially at the nut - compare fretting with a capo on the first fret to no capo.

Study your technique carefully - where you are pressing and how hard.
There have been plenty of prior threads on playing barre chords (Bm and others).

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Old 09-16-2015, 06:33 PM