The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 02-25-2013, 11:31 PM

Default I want a pedal that will give me....

A bluesy sound, im a noob in the electric guitar world i have a washburn hb-35 and i want to get a pedal that will be so bluesy it hurts.. As far as drive and distortion and etc. im lost. Any help will be appreciated. cheers
Old 02-26-2013, 12:52 AM

I love playing the blues myself, but my definition of great blues tone might not be what you have in mind! There are many styles of blues (as well as tonal variations) today as there were way back at the start of electric blues.

What players do you like and what songs kind of set the standard for the tones you would like to aim for? What kind of amp are you mating the Washburn with? These answers will help to let others know exactly what you're after.

For the tones I love, I pretty much opt for the 'clean with a bit of hair' tone. When I use an overdrive pedal, I generally opt for a low gainer. My favorite and #1 for the past 20 years is an old black box Marshall Bluesbreaker pedal. It's pretty much a one trick pony, but it does that trick the way I like it! It responds well to playing dynamics and cleans up well with the guitars volume control.

I've owned and used many, many different drive pedals over the years,
(as many others here also have) so I'm sure the recommendations will be coming soon. The fun part for you will be narrowing it down to those pedals that best describe your ideal tone.
Old 02-26-2013, 01:13 AM
Charter Member

I use an Ibanez Tube Screamer, the TS9, I think... a lot of people think that the older ones are better (the TS 8, etc., etc.), so if you can find one of those for a good price, grab it! I paid a little over $100 for mine, new...