The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 05-07-2019, 06:08 PM
Charter Member

Default Process questions

Friends, I am new to guitar and song writing, in equal measure, and would appreciate a bit of guidance from you veterans.
I have over 50 years in woodwinds - mostly jazz clarinet and tenor sax. A couple years ago I started playing with this woodshed group here on the coast of Maine. Mostly Americana, folk rock, traditional, some old timely stuff as well. The clarinet fit in unexpectedly well. I started singing along and had a great time. About a year into it, on my 50 mile commute to work, lines started popping into my head. And then another, and so on. So I cobbled together some songs, words first, because I didn't play piano or guitar - at least back then.