The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 09-11-2012, 08:19 PM

Default How Many Mistakes Do You Find Acceptable?

Hey guys,

I'm STILL working on recording 5 of my songs which are about the same subject on an EP which I can sell at gigs/put on bandcamp/etc.

When I say I'm still working I mean I've been working for about a month now and I don't have a single completed recording though I spend about 3 hours a day on it (and I'm a full time student-athlete!). How many mistakes in a track do you guys think are acceptable? I don't want to splice multiple takes together, I've tried before and I either end up not being able to play as rubato as I want since I need to use a metronome or the recordings sound subtly different because I sit slightly differently.

Ideally we all want perfection, I assume, but every now and then I still catch mistakes on players I really idolize. Should I be content with an "imperfect" recording or should I keep in this INFURIATING dead lock.

and a note, I don't think it's a matter of practice. I perform all of these at least once a week in front of audiences, usually more like twice. I also practice many hours a day on top of the recording.
Seagull Entourage Rustic (I won it!)

PRS CE22
American Standard Stratocaster
Silverface 1978 Fender Champ
Fender Deluxe Reverb

Winner of the Virginia Guitar Festival

Feel free to call me Zach
Old 09-11-2012, 08:21 PM

Zero mistakes that SOUND like mistakes.

I have to ask myself often, "will anybody notice that but you?"

http://www.youtube.com/user/jeffreymatz
Old 09-11-2012, 08:24 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr. beaumont View Post