The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 05-09-2019, 02:25 AM

Default Small knot on mahogany neck

I'm seeking advice on an issue I discovered while shaping a mahogany neck for a steel string acoustic. This is my fourth scratch build so I'm an amateur to luthiery but certainly not to woodworking which has been my livelihood for the past 25 yrs. That being said, as I was roughing out a mahogany neck, I uncovered a small knot about the same diameter as a #2 pencil. I didn't notice any trace of it or any off coloring when I bought the blank. I don't care about the appearance much, as I'm not selling the guitar. But I'm noticing fibers are pulling from it as I'm shaping the neck. It's on the underside at about the 5th fret. Does anyone have any experience with filling it or possibly cutting out a small section and gluing in a piece to match and then continue shaping? Any suggestions would be appreciated greatly. Thanks
Old 05-09-2019, 02:36 AM

Knotts are character marks, they are also weak sections, being around the 5th would not IMO be an issue, but hard to say without seeing the knott.

If you dont like it, replace it now whilst you can, at this stage of a neck build your not really invested yet

Steve
Maton Messiah
Taylor 814CE
Old 05-09-2019, 03:06 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mirwa View Post
Knotts are character marks, they are also weak sections, being around the 5th would not IMO be an issue, but hard to say without seeing the knott.

If you dont like it, replace it now whilst you can, at this stage of a neck build your not really invested yet

Steve