The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 04-16-2012, 02:27 PM

Default Arpeggios

Greetings,

Do I finish an arpeggio when there's a chord change? What I mean is if I'm playing the C chord, and arpeggio goes 5 4 3 4 2 3 4 3, if I switch to a G or C on beat 3 do I start from the beginning of that pattern again or do I finish it? I'm leaning toward starting the arpeggio over from the beginning of the pattern. I tried just picking it up, but it doesn't sound right when I change the chord.

Playing arpeggios is something I'm just starting to learn, so I'm not sure.

Thanks

Martin 00-28
Cordoba C9
Guild M140
Yamaha LS16
Yairi FY70CE
KoAloha Tenor Ukulele
KALA Tenor
Old 04-16-2012, 08:17 PM

Your question is not clear to me but I'll try...

Every arpeggio note you play should line up with the the chord of the song. If the chord changes, you need to change your arpeggio on the same beat, but you don't always need to start the arpeggio on the root.

Circle 'Round the Sun
Old 04-16-2012, 09:06 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by kats45 View Post
Greetings,

Do I finish an arpeggio when there's a chord change? What I mean is if I'm playing the C chord, and arpeggio goes 5 4 3 4 2 3 4 3, if I switch to a G or C on beat 3 do I start from the beginning of that pattern again or do I finish it? I'm leaning toward starting the arpeggio over from the beginning of the pattern. I tried just picking it up, but it doesn't sound right when I change the chord.

Thanks
Try it in some music familiar to you and it will make more sense to you. A good one for that arpeggio pattern (change string numbers of course to fit the chord) would be Pachelbel's Canon.
Chord sequence is
C - G - Am - Em - F - C - F - G