The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 05-05-2019, 07:55 AM

Default I don't want to sound like 'anybody else'

Finally, a deep heaving sigh. My own limitations are, no doubt, self inflicted. I'm finally o.k. with that. I learned as any other self taught person learns, through the [often unnecessary] pain and misery of the 'slow way'.

I can say I am not interested in learning classical repertoire. I can say I don't want to 'own' or copy cover songs. I will never be on a big stage. In fact, I now question whether anyone beyond my wife and dog will ever hear me again.

That moment of freedom was...freeing.

I can go on to write more of my silly little songs whenever the muse and I hook up with no intent for success (whatever that is). Is this shallow and egocentric...maybe? Or maybe not...maybe it is one step beyond my delusionality.

Life is good, in the hear and now!

Be well,
D

Old 05-05-2019, 08:26 AM

It sounds pretty healthy to me. Just have fun.
Old 05-05-2019, 09:40 AM

For some of us, finding our own distinctive voice is more important than anything. It's one of the many reasons people are drawn to artistic pursuits.

1978 Larrivee L-26 cutaway
1988 Larrivee L-28 cutaway
2006 Larrivee L03-R
2009 Larrivee LV03-R
2016 Irvin SJ cutaway
2020 Irvin SJ cutaway (build thread)
K+K, Dazzo, Schatten/ToneDexter

Notable Journey website
Facebook page

Where the spirit does not work with the hand, there is no art. - Leonardo Da Vinci
Old 05-05-2019, 10:53 AM

Yes, I resemble this!
As so many on this forum would attest, finding your own way and growing is perhaps the fuel that keeps things fresh and ongoing....whatever your directions are for fun with all this.