The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 11-07-2019, 09:04 PM
Charter Member

Default Guitarists with hearing aids please advise.

About 5 weeks ago I visited a hearing center and was recommended to try a pair of Widex Evoke hearing aids.They are pretty darn good and very accommodating with music and guitar playing.Their price is quite high in the $6K range.

Today I also received a pair of Philips "hear linK",supposedly the top end that Costco offers.They are very reasonable at $2500 per pair.

I am very disappointed in these Philips ones with respect to music.

My Martin has a sound like the chorus mode on acoustic amps.Other sources of music also sound very artificial.

Anyone else have this issue?

My dilemma is : are the Widex pair worth the extra $3500?

Any advice is appreciated as I am new to this game..

Thanks ,

Gabe
Old 11-07-2019, 09:17 PM

Well your hearing is priceless is it not? They certainly changed my idea of what is expensive and what is not.
They are also easy to lose, easy to accidently sit on after you take them out and put them in your back pocket while mowing the lawn.
I'm just over 3 years in with my first pair, from what I've been told they are obsolete in 4 or 5 years. Twice now they have been replaced under warranty after failure, so I'd ask your provider about warranty of the pair you want to buy. They are tiny and seem to be fragile.
If you have a pair that enables you to enjoy the sound of music and your guitar I'd say you are ahead of the game.
Old 11-07-2019, 10:22 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitargabor View Post
I am very disappointed in these Philips ones with respect to music.
Anyone else have this issue?
Yes, same issue. If your hearing us good enough, take the aids out when you play guitar.

If not, you won't get what you what at that price. You need an audiogram using "real ear' feedback and an audiologist who knows the software.