The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-01-2012, 09:07 AM

Default Martin DCPA 4 Versus DCPA3

The PA3 is priced 800$ higher and I wonder if it's worth spending the extra bucks on the PA3. I've never tested these guitars plugged in and appriciate if anyone could comment on the sound and quality feel. I will eventually test them myself someday, but all tips and experience come in good hand
Old 01-01-2012, 09:18 AM

The PA 1-3 have the new Fishman F1 Aura electronics the 4 has the F1 Analog (no images).

I've been playing Auras since 2004, and traded my OMC-Aura against a GPCPA1, the difference in electronics is noticeable with the second generation.

I personally think the F1 Aura is worth having over the Analog, but between the 1-3, which all have the F1 Aura, the differences are mostly cosmetic and wood upgrades, I doubt plugged in there is much of a difference.

To me the choice between the 1-3 is budget and personal preference, but I do think blending the Aura image is a critical component even though very lightly used, for that alone I would not get the GPCPA4 but buy one of the Aura models.

Hope this helps, the new Auras do sound really good, with some dues you can dial in an excellent very natural sound.

Rich Macklin Soundclick Website
http://www.youtube.com/rmyaddison

Martin OM-18 Authentic '33 Adirondack/Mahogany
Martin CS OM-28 Alpine/Madagascar
Martin CS 00-42 Adirondack/Madagascar
Martin OM-45TB (2005) Engelmann/Tasmanian Blackwood (#23 of 29)
Old 01-01-2012, 09:47 AM

You should be able to get that Martin DCPA3 for about $1600. Check some price quotes from our sponsors. The awesome F1 Aura system and spruce/rosewood are a lot of bang for the buck.

The DCPA4 is simply in a different league which is the extremely competitive $1000 market and I don't know how it stacks up against the others.

Good luck!
Old 01-01-2012, 03:20 PM