The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-15-2018, 12:23 PM
cghbuilder86 cghbuilder86 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 20
Default Digital wavering like tape recorder.

My setup is a zoom Q8n video recorder. Built in mics turned off and my external mic, Rode nt-4 plugged in. I have one panned left the other panned fully right. levels set with peaks hitting between -12/-6. In a spot or two I have noticed a little wavering sound. Kinda like a tape recorder. What could this be? Room is very quiet. no vents or fans. I can't figure it out. Shouldn't be my recorder. Is this a common problem with mics? If the cable was shorting what would it sound like? Can't try a different cable because the NT-4 comes with a Y split XLR. Any Ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-15-2018, 01:00 PM
rick-slo's Avatar
rick-slo rick-slo is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 11,430
Default

Probably mike shaking - floor movement for example - and/or air movement - breath towards mike for example. Of course a recorded sample of that sound would likely be helpful.
__________________
Derek Coombs
Website -> Music -> Tabs -> CDs and Youtube
Guitars by Mark Blanchard, Albert&Mueller, Paul Woolson, Collings, Composite Acoustics, and Derek Coombs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2018, 01:46 PM
cghbuilder86 cghbuilder86 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 20
Default

I can't seem to figure out how to post the audio track on here...probably has to be uploaded elsewhere and linked I guess? I did figure out that it is always on my input 1 or the left side of the mic. I need to do some switching around for tests I guess...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-15-2018, 01:52 PM
midwinter midwinter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,064
Default

Physical (mic shaking) or maybe they're out of phase?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-16-2018, 06:49 AM
MikeBmusic MikeBmusic is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: On the Mass/NH border
Posts: 4,915
Default

Quote:
my external mic, Rode nt-4 plugged in. I have one panned left the other panned fully right
Do you have 2 mics plugged in? If so, then it is most probably a phase issue (one mic further away from the sound source than the other).
__________________
Mike

My music: http://www.reverbnation.com/mikebirchmusic

2017 Taylor 114ce-N
2012 Taylor 310ce
2011 Fender CD140SCE
Ibanez 12 string a/e
73 Epiphone 6830E 6 string (made in 71?)

72 Fender Telecaster
Epiphone Dot Studio
Epiphone LP Jr
Chinese Strat clone ($25!)

Kala baritone ukulele
Seagull 'Merlin'
Washburn Mandolin
Luna 'tatoo' a/e ukulele
antique banjolin
Squire J bass

Last edited by MikeBmusic; 01-18-2018 at 07:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-16-2018, 07:46 AM
Bob Womack's Avatar
Bob Womack Bob Womack is offline
Guitar Gourmet
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Between Clever and Stupid
Posts: 20,435
Default

Does the system have independent compression on each channel? If it does and you are hitting it with spaced mics with differential levels it could be pumping the compressors at differential rates and giving you both level and L-R imaging anomalies. Might sound a bit like wow or flutter. You'd need to find a way to link the two compressors.

Bob
__________________
"It is said, 'Go not to the elves for counsel for they will say both no and yes.' "
Frodo Baggins to Gildor Inglorion, The Fellowship of the Ring

THE MUSICIAN'S ROOM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-16-2018, 04:16 PM
cghbuilder86 cghbuilder86 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 20
Default

Well the rode Nt-4 is a single mic with two capsules on the end and a y plug. So it is fixed like two mics in an XY.
The problem is in the straight raw file. no compression or anything added.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-17-2018, 09:27 AM
KevWind KevWind is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Out West
Posts: 9,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cghbuilder86 View Post
Well the rode Nt-4 is a single mic with two capsules on the end and a y plug. So it is fixed like two mics in an XY.
The problem is in the straight raw file. no compression or anything added.
That is curious ... Yes try reversing the mic cable leads L for R and see if the waver goes to the right side.

Also if you have track phase or polarity reversal capability in you DAW try it as well ( this may only work if you are going into two mono tracks istead of one stereo track.
__________________
" Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding." Albert Einstein
Enjoy the Journey.... Kev...



http://soundcloud.com/kevwind
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-17-2018, 10:26 AM
rick-slo's Avatar
rick-slo rick-slo is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 11,430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cghbuilder86 View Post
I can't seem to figure out how to post the audio track on here...probably has to be uploaded elsewhere and linked I guess? I did figure out that it is always on my input 1 or the left side of the mic. I need to do some switching around for tests I guess...
If you wish you can email me a short (say up to 30 second) mp3 and I can upload it to my website with a link to it.
__________________
Derek Coombs
Website -> Music -> Tabs -> CDs and Youtube
Guitars by Mark Blanchard, Albert&Mueller, Paul Woolson, Collings, Composite Acoustics, and Derek Coombs
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-05-2018, 12:08 PM
cghbuilder86 cghbuilder86 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 20
Default

I thought I would respond to this for the sake of future archives. Incase someone runs across this topic with the same problem. It seems to correct the problem I just set the sample rate back to 44.1/24 bit. When the "glitches" were happening the sample rate was set on 48. It hasn't happened since setting back to 44.1. weird...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-05-2018, 12:50 PM
rick-slo's Avatar
rick-slo rick-slo is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 11,430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cghbuilder86 View Post
I thought I would respond to this for the sake of future archives. Incase someone runs across this topic with the same problem. It seems to correct the problem I just set the sample rate back to 44.1/24 bit. When the "glitches" were happening the sample rate was set on 48. It hasn't happened since setting back to 44.1. weird...
That shouldn't happen with half way decent gear but then again it's a Zoom. I don't know the quality of sample rate conversions made by Zoom or it buffer size setting.
__________________
Derek Coombs
Website -> Music -> Tabs -> CDs and Youtube
Guitars by Mark Blanchard, Albert&Mueller, Paul Woolson, Collings, Composite Acoustics, and Derek Coombs
Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Thread Tools



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, The Acoustic Guitar Forum
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=