The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > LISTEN

Old 05-10-2020, 12:51 AM

Location: 4 miles from Abbey Road, 5 miles from Page's Gibson(maybe), 120 miles from the Richards's mansion(I think)
Default Album/compilation of classic bluegrass music

Does anyone know if there exists a single album compilation of classic bluegrass music(by which I guess I mean the most commercial) from various artists.

I had a look on amazon music and could not really find anything.

I am new to the genre so want to sample a number of artists ideally in one downloadable compilation.

Any advice gratefully recieved.
Old 05-10-2020, 08:35 AM

Rounder has some:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/58957:...tar_Collection

https://www.discogs.com/Various-Hand...elease/4174604
Fender Baja Telecaster
Old 05-10-2020, 09:17 AM
Charter Member

Although I had heard some bluegrass in the early-mid 60's, I never really dug in to it very much...

Until The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band put out an album called, "Will The Circle Be Unbroken" in the early 70's... the Dirt Band were local for me, being raised in Orange County, Ca., so perhaps that was one reason that I warmed up to this record so easily...

Not ALL standard bluegrass tunes, but a lot of 'em... and with Roy Acuff, Vassar Clements, Doc Watson, Maybelle Carter (?), Ferlin Husky, Bill Monroe and the likes, you had (what I now realize was ) a pretty darned good compendium an cross-section of the genre.

Don't know if you can still get a hold of this; was a 3 record set, very nice packaging, as I recall... and some REALLY good music with stellar playing and a whole lot of heart!

This was decades ago, so "New Grass" had just gotten started - don't even know if that title has been levied on the genre as of then... certainly Sea Train, Old and In The Way and others were already making inroads towards what has become New Grass...

Lots of fun to explore... Have Fun!