The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 02-22-2011, 03:19 PM

Default Short Scale Classical for $2,200?

Hi,

I just started playing more classical lately, and I'm looking for a short scale (630mm ~ 640mm). The nut width can be anywhere between 48mm and 52mm, although I like it to be a bit narrower than 52mm. My budget is $2,200.

Any recommendations?

I have looked at some Hill guitars. The non-Chinese ones seem to be out of my budget, unless I find a good deal on a used one. Is there any other guitars I should check?

Oh, I don't need electrics.

Thanks
Old 02-22-2011, 06:11 PM
Charter Member

Check the Guitars For Sale section over at DelCamp.us
Old 02-22-2011, 06:18 PM

There's a Hill New World Almeria 640mm, 51mm up for auction on Ebay right. The New World guitars are all-solid, well-made, and a great bang for your buck. The Almeria would bring you in well under budget. If you're patient, you'll find a used Hill that meets your specs. Great guitars.
Old 02-22-2011, 10:12 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by WaddyT View Post
Check the Guitars For Sale section over at DelCamp.us
Thanks. I'll check.
Old 02-22-2011, 10:13 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogsnax View Post
There's a Hill New World Almeria 640mm, 51mm up for auction on Ebay right. The New World guitars are all-solid, well-made, and a great bang for your buck. The Almeria would bring you in well under budget. If you're patient, you'll find a used Hill that meets your specs. Great guitars.
Yeah, I know this one. It's in my watch list. I may get it, but not sure yet.

Do you know the neck shape of the Almeria? I asked the seller, but haven't received the answer yet. Tonight, I played the 650mm eStudio, and the neck was pretty thick.

Thanks
Old 02-23-2011, 12:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mk49 View Post