The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 05-11-2022, 10:47 PM

Default Schatten HFN and pedals?

Long time reader, first time poster!

I’ve got a 1990 Washburn D-30, sloped shoulder solid cedar top, maple sides and back. I’m leaning heavily towards installing a passive Schatten HFN for coffee shop small gig stuff but I have no real world experience with pedals of any kind never mind what would work with the Schatten HFN. I know I will need a tuner but beyond that I’m lost. I’m not looking to spend a fortune, just be able to tone shape and kill some feedback.

Thoughts and Recommendations?

Thanks
Joe

Gibson J45 Studio Rosewood
Washburn D-30S
Yamaha G-250S
Old 05-12-2022, 10:43 AM

I have a passive Schatten HFN and it is a really low signal. I use either a K&K belt clip preamp or a Behringer ADI21. The K&K sounds a lot better but it's a bit more cumbersome if I want to raise and lower the volume for bare finger picking vs strumming with a pic. If I know I'm going to be switching multiple times, I'll set up the Behringer so I can switch between the two with my foot.

I use a clip on tuner so I can't help you with that.
Old 05-12-2022, 03:12 PM

Schatten HFN is a great sounding pickup which I use in several guitars (beside other soundboard transducers).
If you want to keep it simple you want to use a BOSS tuner pedal. It will do the impedance matching that passive pickups need. Use a BOSS, no other manufacturer !
If you want to use dedicated preamp and a clip on tuner, there are loads of options ranging from $50 up to $1300.

https://www.youtube.com/@roberthasleder1526
Old 05-13-2022, 03:10 PM