The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 05-11-2022, 12:53 PM
Charter Member

Default Microphone Isolation Box

At our local radio station we record lots of different announcements, interviews, news spots, etc. The room we have set up is small with windows that let in traffic noise. Not much traffic really, but it seems like half of what's out there are diesel trucks

I was thinking an isolation box for the microphone could be a big help but I have no experience with them.

Any pointers?

Thanks

Goodall, Martin, Wingert
Old 05-11-2022, 01:09 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Paul View Post
I was thinking an isolation box for the microphone could be a big help but I have no experience with them.
I'm not sure I understand what you're proposing doing with this box? Are you sticking your head in it to sing? Are you putting it in front of a guitar? Are you building it big enough for the player to be inside?
2015 Circle Strings Parlor shedua/western red cedar
2009 Bamburg JSB Signature Baritone macassar ebony/carpathian spruce
2004 Taylor XXX-RS indian rosewood/sitka spruce
1988 Martin D-16 mahogany/sitka spruce

along with some electrics, zouks, dulcimers, and banjos.

YouTube
Old 05-11-2022, 01:39 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
At our local radio station we record lots of different announcements, interviews, news spots, etc. The room we have set up is small with windows that let in traffic noise. Not much traffic really, but it seems like half of what's out there are diesel trucks

Any pointers?

Thanks
I am not certain what you mean by box either
For announcement You might be able to use one of the commercial curved mic shields. But I would not think it will work real well for interviews..

For that seems like you need to treat the entire room or get an oversize Iso Booth , that two people can fit into.. Which I believe are a couple thousand dollars ..