The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 01-18-2020, 06:41 PM

Default Mixer Recommendations and Questions...

So, I have a few instruments in a spare bedroom that I use as a jam room and a simple studio. Currently, I record everything into an old Boss BR600 digital recorder. I'm not a professional, and I'm happy enough with the sound I get. However, when I get a decent computer eventually, I will prolly switch to using a Daw.

Mixer vs Audio Interface:. Is there any disadvantage or sound quality difference in using an audio interface vs a mixer? (Other than the tracks bring individual or just a summer mix.)

Do you all have any recommendations on a good 10 to 20 track mixer? The following is what I'm looking for:

1: It doesn't suck/ruin the sound/tone.
2: 10 to 20 channels. The more the better, but it's all about cost vs features and being logical.

I don't have a budget really... If a $130 mixer will work well, then I'm happy, but if I need to spend $500 to get okay sound out of a mixer, then I'll save up. So, I guess the cheapest quality option is what I'm looking for.

Anyhow, I appreciate you all and your help very much!
Old 01-18-2020, 08:50 PM

10 to 20 channels because you will need to mix that many or because you will be recording that many at a single time?
Old 01-18-2020, 10:00 PM

I chose those numbers because I have that many instruments that will need recorded. Most of the time, I only record one at a time. Sometimes when playing with people, I may record like 4 inputs at one time. I was planning to just plug each instrument into its own input and leave the levels properly adjusted. Or is it wiser to get a small mixer and just adjust it each time I choose a new instrument to record? 4 instruments is probably the most I would record simultaneously. Although I do use 2 mics that need phantom power sometimes.

Last edited by AlfredFelix; 01-18-2020 at 10:06 PM.