The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 08-12-2020, 01:56 PM

Default Beginners practicing online

I started learning acoustic guitar in early March of this year. Don't sound like much yet but really enjoying it so far. I've been doing some practice on my own and feel like I'm getting a little stuck. I think I might make more progress if I had someone else to practice with.

Where can I find a small group or even one other person who is a relative beginner and wants to practice with someone online? Like Zoom or some other platform.

Martin 000c-16
Martin DRS2
Old 08-12-2020, 02:09 PM
Charter Member

You can't really play in real-time with other folks online due to latency. I've been having fun with Tyler Grant's facebook videos. Every Monday night he does a virtual bluegrass jam at Slow Tempo, Mid Tempo, and Fast Tempo for an hour each way. You may want to check them out. It's just strumming and basic chords. You can view his archives here, and best of all it's free!

https://www.facebook.com/pg/tylergui...=page_internal
Old 08-12-2020, 02:12 PM
Charter Member

Jack,

Once things get back to "normal" I suggest you seek out an adult continuing education class for beginners. You will meet like minded people who might want to get together for practice and jams.

But based on my own experience (and my particular way of doing things) I think your time would be better spent solo, at least to start. I remember reading a quote from John Mayer, answering the question "Where did you learn to play guitar like that?" to which he said, "Alone, in my bedroom."
Old 08-12-2020, 02:40 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by UncleJesse View Post