The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 01-21-2013, 11:31 AM

Default Who do you recommend for teaching Music Theory on YouTube

Hey all,
Trying to use the collective's brain to save me a little time here. I'm a newbie learning my first chords and there is only so much time in the day that I can actually practice with my guitar. But I'd like to continue to "feed my brain" while I'm waiting for my fingertips to cool down, etc.

I'm also the sort of person who likes to understand systems, rather than just learn things by rote (I like to understand the "why" of things). So I'm interested in understanding Music Theory, especially as it applies to the guitar.

I'm looking for a good online/video teacher. Here's the challenge though. I don't want a teacher that makes sense once you already understand what they are talking about. I want a teacher that makes sense to somebody coming from Ground Zero in their understanding. (It might be hard for you to remember what that was like).

So I'm open to suggestions for who you think explains music theory well to newbies (on YouTube or other video site). Or, if you have a DVD training course that you think does it better than anything online, I'm all ears.

Thanks in advance!
Seagull 20th Anniversary S6 (Spruce & Flamed Maple)
Old 01-21-2013, 12:15 PM

Check out the lessons at http://www.musictheory.net/
Old 01-22-2013, 09:56 AM

Youtube in not a great place to look for good lessons, you can find great videos but its hard to find a lesson program or something that can really teach you to play.
Old 01-22-2013, 10:03 AM

I don't reccomend ever trying to learn theory on YouTube...yikes.

What do you consider "theory?" If you're learning your first chords, I see absolutely no reason why you should be learning theory, assuming it's actual music theory you're talking about...

http://www.youtube.com/user/jeffreymatz