The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 03-15-2020, 06:41 AM
Charter Member

Location: alpha quadrant of the Milky Way galaxy, planet Earth, upstate NY
Default recording at home psychology

When i've recorded in studios, I was aware of "the clock"-- time spent equals money spent. Recording at home affords me endless time which has lead me to this syndrome of, "I could do this even better."

What is a good strategy to deal with this? Thanks.
When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down, “happy.” They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life. —John Lennon
Old 03-15-2020, 07:18 AM

I've been doing home recording since 1970. As my playing and recording skills have gotten better over the years my recordings have also. But, I've never made a perfect recording, and I don't expect I ever will. I merely try my best, and have come to accept that something less than perfection will result.

Have I done 10 takes to try to "nail" that lead part? Sure. 20 takes? You bet. 50 takes? Yup, a few times. More than 50? Probably. But, there is a point when I realize I've captured my best, and that's where it ends. How do I know when that happens? Usually my body tells me. My hands/wrists become fatigued. My mind tells me. I lose my ability to totally concentrate on playing, and I think more about anticipating failure than anticipating success. And finally, I realize that take #30 was better than any take from #31 on.

In short, my attitude is to work hard but not obsessively, be realistic and reasonable about my abilities, and to view perfection as something I'll leave for those with far greater gifts than my own.

AKA 'Screamin' Tooth Parker'