The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 10-23-2023, 02:03 AM

Default 3 set of Brazilian Rosewood

Hello, I am getting a guitar built, the luthier offered 3 sets of Brazilian Rosewood for me to choose from.

Would like to see your opinion!

Set 1

Set 2

Set 3
Old 10-23-2023, 02:27 AM

I’d pick number two. To me, coming from hobby carpentry I think that one looks like the one least prone to cracks but I’m no expert and I can only judge from my own experience and looks.

Current:
2008 Taylor GC8
2009 Esteve 8 EIR/Romanian Spruce
2001 Fender Stratocaster vintage '62
and a hefty amount of cheap beaters to circle around the house

Sold:
2014 Lowden F25 Custom
2006 Taylor GS6e

My John Renbourn tribute
Old 10-23-2023, 03:06 AM
AGF Sponsor

I’d suggest you see the sides that go with each set before making any decisions

"A conclusion is the place where you got tired of thinking".
Steven Wright
Old 10-23-2023, 06:55 AM
Charter Member

Based on the backs only, set 2.
Old 10-23-2023, 03:36 PM
AGF Sponsor

Set 2 is flatsawn. I’d pick 1 or 3 but agree with Mark that sides would need to be seen to narrow it down.
Old 10-23-2023, 03:41 PM

Numero 3 for me, I think it is beautiful. A good builder and a well cared for ie. humified guitar even of BRW should not crack. I go for aesthetics personally.
Old 10-23-2023, 03:48 PM
Charter Member

I'm #1 all day, #3 I just don't dig the single dark stripe. #2 a distant 3rd because it's flatsawn.

Bourgeois DR-A / Bowerman "Working Man's" OM / Martin Custom D-18 (adi & flame) / Martin OM-21 / Northwood M70 MJ / 1970s Sigma DR-7 / Eastman E6D / Flatiron Signature A5 / Silverangel Econo A
(Call me Dan)
Old 10-23-2023, 04:08 PM
Charter Member

I'm with warfrat73--Numero 1 gets my vote!
2020 Wilborn Arum (Tunnel 14/Coco)
2021 Kinnaird Graybeard (BC Cedar/Bog Oak)
2022 Kinnaird CS Student Build (Adi/Padauk)
2023 Kinnaird FS (Italian/Koa)