The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 01-02-2005, 11:50 AM

Default Pickup Advice for semi-loud band

After searching around here for a while I'm finding a lot of great pickup information but not a lot about feedback. I'm looking for a pickup to put in my guitar for live shows. We are playing fairly decent sized clubs and we are by no means a "loud" band but feedback is always going to be an issue. I'm reading good things about the K&K pure western and the PUTW #54 but I'm curious how prone they are to feedback. I really like the idea of the pure western's installation and not having a battery to mess with would be great as well. I'll probably pick up a good DI as well, I've been looking at the Baggs Para DI. Also, I see no discussion of those little rubber deals you close the soundhole with. I imagine those would help a ton for feedback but I have no experience with it. Thanks.

Mark
Old 01-02-2005, 12:09 PM

Normally Sound board transducers like the K&K or the PUTW are prettys sensitive to feedback and at higher volume levels they pick up alot of bumps and body noises. A soundhole cover works wonders for feedback and a properly set compressor can help with the other noises. In the end either a plain old UST(B Band A1. Fishman matrix or LR Baggs element) or a decent magnetic soundhole pickup(Fishman rare earth humbucker, rare earth blend, or a Sunrise pickup) will give you decent but probably not great tone with no worries of feedback or other unwanted noises.
Old 01-02-2005, 03:55 PM

The Sunrise is about as feedback resistant as it gets. Whatever "acoustic" flavor it misses would probably be covered by the band (*cough drummer cough*) except in the quietest passages.
Old 01-02-2005, 06:55 PM