The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 05-19-2022, 11:04 AM
Charter Member

Default Fuzzy strings - D'addario XT

Friends, on my new to me Merrill OM the seller mounted D'addario XT (80/20, I assume). I have been playing them for the past three weeks or so, and just noticed these tiny hairs at the portion of G that transverses the tone hole. Only the G string. As I have never used coated strings before, is this a normal phenomenon, and does it indicate the need to replace? The strings, again, are only three weeks old, or so.
Thanks.
Davuid
Old 05-19-2022, 11:10 AM

Normal..

it's the coating shredding off the string

coated strings do this, Elixirs for example are very noticeable.

the G string, as it turns out, is probably one of the strings that is hit the most.

so it's naturally seeing more wear than the other strings, but eventually all the wound strings will show some signs of wear w/coated strings

they will still sound fine, and be ok.

Gibson SJ200
Taylor Grand Symphony
Taylor 514CE-NY
Taylor 814CE Deluxe V-Class
Guild F1512
Alvarez DY74 Snowflake ('78)
Old 05-19-2022, 11:30 AM

Are you sure they are not the xs strings? I've never seen any shedding with the xt strings. Has anyone else noticed shedding with the xt strings specifically?

As far as I understand the xt strings are treated much the same as the exp, before they are wound. The xs has a similar coating to the other coated strings, like elixir.
Old 05-19-2022, 11:59 AM
Charter Member

Yes, usually shows up on the G string first. I play finger style, mostly with Elixir Nanowebs. The G string always get contact with a fingernail while the thicker strings are more likely to get the fleshy part of the thumb. So the G gets the most wear. I use the amount of fuzziness to tell when I need to change strings. Seems like it shows up in 6-8 weeks or so.
Old 05-19-2022, 12:11 PM