The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-13-2020, 08:06 PM
Kule Borgadi Kule Borgadi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 3
Default Fishman ToneDeq strange issue

Hi All!

I’m wondering if anyone has any input or experience with this issue I’m having. My ToneDeq is less than a year old and lives on my pedalboard, which is in a hard case whenever I’m not playing it.

At a gig last week, I was getting some static with very faint acoustic guitar coming through. I stopped using my entire board for the rest of the night. At home, I narrowed it down to the ToneDeq. Both alone and within the effect signal chain, my guitar is static-y and weak unless the “chorus” effect is engaged. Once I turn on the chorus, the ToneDeq’s reverb and boost both function as normal and my guitar signal is perfect. Just a quick note, I tested my 1/4 inch cables including my patch cables, and they are fully operational.

So, in summary, while the pedal is totally off but still in my signal chain, my signal is weak and static-y. If I engage the chorus, it’s perfect! When I disengage the chorus, it returns to static-y. Help! Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2020, 09:21 PM
steelvibe's Avatar
steelvibe steelvibe is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: A mile over sea level in CO
Posts: 3,864
Default

Hey Kule. Sorry your having issues with that. Have you checked the input trim level? I realize that it is recessed on this unit but you can still accidentally/inadvertently move it. If it is too low it may not be pushing your signal hot enough, too high and you might be clipping and thus the static-y sound. Just something to consider, you are already doing the right thing by testing cables first.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2020, 04:30 AM
jonfields45 jonfields45 is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 3,670
Default

I guess it is not shocking to say I think it is broken and needs to go back to Fishman.

On the off case that the guts are really a small computer that needs to be reset (seems unlikely), if you've got a battery in the ToneDeq remove it and the power supply connection for a minute and test it again.
__________________
Jon Fields

2019 RainSong V-DR1100N2
2020 PRS S2 McCarty 594 Thinline Tobacco Burst

[email protected], www.justsoduo.com

jf45ir Free DIY Acoustic Guitar IR Generator: http://acousticir.free.fr/spip.php?article136
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-14-2020, 05:59 AM
Kule Borgadi Kule Borgadi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks to both of you guys. Steel, the trim level remains were it was, somewhere around 12:00ish. Jon, thanks for the suggestion. I believe I have an old useless battery in there, although I run it off a voodoo labs iso 5. I have tried disconnecting that for a few minutes, but not pulled the battery. I anticipated having to send it back to fishman...I’m just optimistic that I can avoid that with maybe something simple that I’m missing. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2020, 06:22 AM
RockerDuck RockerDuck is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canton, Georgia
Posts: 1,306
Default

I have a ToneDeq and I found it has to be first in the chain to work properly because its input is high Mohm for acoustic guitar. Also always remove the battery when on a power supply. Other pedals I've had left a battery in messed with the signal too.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Thread Tools





All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, The Acoustic Guitar Forum
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=