The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 04-23-2017, 06:05 PM

Default Vox AC10 thoughts

I'm looking at a Vox AC10 on Craigslist. Seems to be a good price. Anyone have any experience with these? I'm looking for a small amp to use at home. No gigging, just bedroom rock and roll.
Old 04-23-2017, 07:14 PM

Had a Nighttrain 1x12 15 watt combo. Very versatile. I have no experience with the AC10, but FWIW, I just got a Bugera Infinium V22 and swapped out the noisy tubes and for under $450 I have a brand new, very nice giggable versatile amp that sounds great at bedroom levels too. The cleans are so nice. And the Triode Pentode switch kind of gives you two different sounding amps in one. On triode mode the sound reminds me of my Epiphone Valve Jr, and in Pentode the thing just screams.

If you're dead set on the Vox, I'd beware as mine (the nighttrain) had cheap tubes in it that needed to be changed the first 19 hrs of play. I probably wouldn't pay more than $260 for a used AC10, unless it has new tubes, then maybe $300.

Good luck.

Last edited by YamahaGuy; 04-23-2017 at 07:19 PM.
Old 04-23-2017, 07:26 PM

The Vox AC10 is highly regarded by a lot of folks over at the Telecaster forum, which says a lot. I have owned an AC4 C1, and a Vox AC4 HW1, both great amps.

If you like the Vox sound, I'm sure you will be thrilled with it.
Old 04-23-2017, 07:31 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by YamahaGuy View Post