The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 04-28-2010, 05:24 AM

Default Acoustic Player Interested In Trying Electric

I have been playing for about 3 years, all acoustic. I would like to try an electric guitar to mostly experiment with the different sounds, bends, slides, etc. I went to a guitar center to try them out, but couldn't stand the noise for more than 10 minutes, I left disappointed. However, I did notice that the string spacing on the Strat electric was much tighter than my acoustics (all 1 3/4" nuts). Are there any recommendations that anyone could make, is the size of the nut something I would get used to. I don't want to invest a lot of money in fear that I won't like it, but I also don't want to buy junk (been that route with my first acoustic).
Old 04-28-2010, 07:26 AM

As my tech pointed out, an acoustic is not an electric and vice versa, any more than a guitar is a bass and vice versa. You can and do get used to the differences. Look at how many musicians do. Yes, the string spacing on an electric is ever so closer than on an acoustic. I'm not one for distortion (yet), but I like slides and bends and the things you can do with electric strings that you can't really do with acoustic effectively. I play my electric clean, no distortion. It just has a very different sound than the acoustic. Not to mention being able to use headphones to play privately.

I got my butt handed to me for saying this elsewhere (wasn't even a guitar forum, and it's only my opinion), but I think some songs sound better on acoustic, some sound better on electric. I can't imagine Come Together properly on an acoustic any more than I can imagine Sittin' on the Dock of the Bay or Ain't No Sunshine on an electric.

Keep trying different brands and models, and fidoodle with the settings until you find one you like.
Old 04-28-2010, 08:15 AM

Quote: