The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 10-02-2006, 08:53 PM

Talking Want to venture into Recording

Well i'm a new-guy to this forum. I've far less experience with guitar than many of you on this board, but I want to begin learning how to record, write music, sing etc. So here's what I got...

I'm 20, I've been playing around 16 months

I've got a Martin D16Gt (and an extremely cheap fender acoustic/electric)

A New 2gig Macbook. I'm extremely new to using Macs and will be learning it while learning about recording.

I've been reading/browsing and searching this forum throughout the day and really enjoy it. There seems to be a lot of great people and information here, so I'm planning on making it a habit to stop by as often as possible.

Ok

- So, I need to learn the garageband program, which I found a decent manual online that should help some.

- What type of Mic to use?

- Various pluggins needed to attach mic/guitar to my computer?

-Should I add electrics to my guitar? Look into purchasing an acoustic/electric guitar? Can I record my guitar using a mic? how would it change the quality of the music, and by how much?

-What would be the best route to record? Via my computer or getting a small multi track recorder? (i've barely searched but saw some around $500 which I could save a bit and invest in)

As you can see I'm nearly clueless on the subject, and have only been researching it for a few hours throughout the day.. I have been wanting to do this for a few months though, and am just finding the time to really jump into it.

I think that covers my main questions about getting started for now.

All suggestions are welcomed and appreciated!
Old 10-02-2006, 10:47 PM
Get off my lawn kid