The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 07-15-2018, 04:50 PM
Charter Member

Default Gut trebles

I’m a nylon string newbie and trying different strings.

I started with Thomastik Infeld Classic S strings. The trebles sound too much like steel strings. Then I switched to LaBella Folk Singer Strings and the trebles were way too dull. After that, I put on Hannabach med-hi tension carbon trebles - better, but I wouldn’t mind something a little brighter and with a little more sustain. I’ve been reading about gut strings and wondering if they’d suit my needs.

Any thoughts on that, or possible alternatives?
Old 07-15-2018, 05:55 PM

Default Savarez Alliance...

These are fluorocarbon strings and are both brighter and thinner in diameter than standard nylon strings. Definitely with a try.
Old 07-16-2018, 09:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quickstep192 View Post
I’m a nylon string newbie and trying different strings.

I started with Thomastik Infeld Classic S strings. The trebles sound too much like steel strings. Then I switched to LaBella Folk Singer Strings and the trebles were way too dull. After that, I put on Hannabach med-hi tension carbon trebles - better, but I wouldn’t mind something a little brighter and with a little more sustain. I’ve been reading about gut strings and wondering if they’d suit my needs.

Any thoughts on that, or possible alternatives?
Two Classic S sets: KF110 and KR116. Which did you use?
Old 07-16-2018, 05:15 PM
Charter Member

I tried he KR116
Old 07-16-2018, 06:19 PM