The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 10-01-2021, 07:11 PM

Default Cracked top while building

This is my first attempt at building a guitar. I am at the point where I am voicing the top (torrified Sitka Spruce). When I made the initial cut of the top I left a little point on the top and bottom of the sound board thinking that it would help me properly line up the top for gluing (seen others do this on line). I determined I was able to see the centerline just fine with out these so decided to cut them off. Well when sawing a crack developed (see pics). Painful, but lesson learned.

Question I have, is this a simple fix by applying some thin CA? Or do I try Titebond? I used Titebond to join the top but I think it would be messier.

Will either effect the tonal qualities of the top, or is this ruined. I would think that it would be no different than the joint between the two top pieces.

Thanks for any advice!!
Mark

Old 10-01-2021, 11:03 PM

I would just use titebond at his stage
Maton Messiah
Taylor 814CE
Old 10-02-2021, 09:55 AM
AGF Sponsor

I cannot see any pictures, but if a top is cracked in process anywhere but under the fingerboard extension, starting over is highly recommended.
Old 10-02-2021, 10:06 AM

For a first guitar I think you are fine to reglue the top. If the crack is on the glue line then you should saw it down the center and join it again. Otherwise use titebond and clamp it.
Old 10-02-2021, 12:01 PM