The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 07-26-2022, 09:07 AM

Default Strumming pattern + chord changes + singing, is tough!

I'm a beginner teaching myself Bad Moon Rising from the Justin guitar series on the internet. D, A, G chords no capo, strumming pattern is down down down up down up. Strumming the pattern while changing chords is tough, but if I start out slow and then build up speed I can get into a rhythm, but then if I open my mouth to sing it all goes to crap. It's worse than rubbing your belly and patting your head at the same time.
Suggestions welcome.......
Old 07-26-2022, 09:19 AM
Charter Member

Nothing a few decades of practice won't fix

In the meantime, does your strumming hand go up and down twice on every beat, even if you are not strumming on the upstroke? That may help with timing. One day you will wake up and it will work if you keep at it. Then you can try it while fingerpicking and start all over!!!
Old 07-26-2022, 09:50 AM
Charter Member

Bob is right.

Practice, practice, practice. Justinguitar is a good choice.

It can be motivating to record yourself now, and then again in say 4 - 6 weeks playing the same thing. You will make very good progress if you can put aside 30 - 45 minutes a day but don't worry if you miss one here or there.

It's fun - enjoy it.
Lowden S32J
Guild F-512e (Spruce/Rosewood)
Old 07-26-2022, 10:04 AM

You just need to keep practicing until it becomes second nature. Then you can add in the singing.

There are no shortcuts besides putting in the practice time.
Old 07-26-2022, 10:11 AM

What you are experiencing is familiar to me [and many others 'round these parts] and in my case it was many, many years ago.

Welcome to the club. As already noted, practice, practice and more practice!

If it gets boring doing the one song get another to work on just for the break. But, keep at it.

Have fun!!!
Old 07-26-2022, 10:18 AM