The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 10-18-2021, 06:12 AM

Default My Last Guitar - A Martin?

Best Martin for all styles of music?

I am a lifer musician - still making a living at it at 59 years old. I have about 25 guitars and with few exceptions, these have all been cheap or midrange guitars. I love my '78 Gibson Gospel. It sounds wonderful in the recording studio, but the neck is a little small for my big hands to play live. I also don't like to gig with it because it's a little more delicate than other guitars I own. I am a singer songwriter, but I play a lot of cover gigs - strumming, finger style (a little) and soloing. I need a well-balanced instrument. I want to be the one who decides which notes of a chord or a run are stressed - I don't want to leave it up to the bracing pattern...

To solve the "big hands" problem, I searched for a guitar with a wider nut and came across the Seagull Mariner. This guitar is OK, but balanced/braced for strumming. The high notes disappear and solo runs go unheard. This pisses me off and led me to look for a new gigging guitar that will really pop out on the top strings. I recently bought a Yairi dy 38 that I love. I just had a K&K pickup put into it. Going to pick it up today and A/B with the Seagull (I believe that the Yairi will blow it's doors off), but we will see.