The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 05-15-2019, 06:11 PM

Default Tools needed for a shop

Hi im Kenny I was on the fourum some years back. Ive had the idea for a few years about learning to make guitars. I have some basic wood working experience. Im thinking about starting out with a kit and than going from there to eventually bending my own sides and so on. Im in a place where i can start to finally put a shop together. Im wondering what are the major machines ill need and what sizes. I have a 13 inch dewalt planer. what size jointer do i need. what size band saw do i need. ect.... im going to get a drum sander. I may be looking to by new or possibly used in good condition.

Is there a market if i were to get good for someone to make a living making guitars. im on long island in new york.
Old 05-15-2019, 08:33 PM

Hi Kenny.

The machinery you'll want/need depends, in part, on how close to the log you want to start. If you, for example, want to re-saw your own backs and sides, you'll need different equipment than if you buy them already rough sawn, such as from a luthier supply house. The larger the boards you start with, the bigger the equipment you'll need.

The equipment you'll want/need also depends upon how quickly you want your builds to go. For example, one can do nearly everything with little more than hand tools, but, at least for some operations, doing so is slower than using machinery for some of the tasks.

I wouldn't suggest investing in a lot of machinery until after you've at least finished your first kit: a kit can be a good introduction to guitar making.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenneth22 View Post
Is there a market if i were to get good for someone to make a living making guitars. im on long island in new york.
That's the million dollar question.