The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 09-08-2019, 08:32 AM

Default Replacing Fender’s MP-90’s

Bought a inexpensive Thinline Tele last year that came with MP-90’s. Pickups Never really impressed me - seemed dull and kinda thin. Fast forward a few months after a recoup from a hand injury and I now have a dead bridge pickup so might be the perfect time for replacement. Still want p90 style and seems Fralin or Lollar get a lotta love.
I’m relatively new to electric and can’t say specifically what I like but I do lean towards the p90 tone. Don’t care too much bout upgrading cost on cheap guitar... can always swap back out if I sell.
Any suggestions or possible good comparison videos?
Thanks everyone...
Nick
Old 09-08-2019, 08:51 AM

Oh forgot, it’s a Thinline modern Tele with mahogany body. Maybe a bit warmer cause of the hog???
Old 09-08-2019, 09:08 AM
Charter Member

I had the same guitar for a while. I was OK with the sound of the pickups but found them really noisy. I replaced them with a set of Vintage Vibe soapbars, which were about $200 for the set. They were also RWRP and much better shielded than the original Fenders, so they were pretty quiet and sounded better as well. Pete Bitloff, who makes them, builds them with whichever magnet you want and includes a second set of magnets with them, which are easy to switch out. I bought them with Alnico 2 and later switched to the Alnico 5 he included, which gave them a bit more bite when over-driven.