The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 07-26-2020, 02:57 PM

Default Bought a used Martin for $50 with missing binding

I was encouraged to post in this section due to an odd situation I have stumbled on. I'm new to guitar playing and am ecstatic to have found such a great deal on a used Martin DCME 2005-2006 era, but didn't realize when I got it that the front and back binding was completely removed. I reached out to the seller after the fact and he said years ago he removed it because it was falling apart and regretfully threw it away. The guitar before his ownership was stored in a storage place for an unknown period of time.

I recently took it to a Martin authorized service center and was informed it would not be worth it for them to do the work because it would exceed the value of the guitar. I've asked 3 other repair shops and no one is willing to do the work. So now I am contemplating doing it myself. My husband and I are pretty handy.

Seems to be just binding no purfling was installed from factory. Thinking that would make the job a little bit easier. We measured it with calipers and measurements are .050 (1.27mm) X .195 (4.95mm) Is there a plastic binding close enough where it could just be glued in without having to do any contouring? We've looked on StewMac and I am thinking about calling Martin tomorrow to confirm dimensions and appropriate material to use. What is the best binding? What is the best glue?

I have been looking at videos and reading about it extensively lately and frankly, discovering the world of Lutherie has been pretty fascinating

I greatly appreciate any recommendations! Thank you!

*** Pics below ***
Old 07-26-2020, 03:00 PM

Martin DCME
Old 07-26-2020, 03:25 PM

("Build and Repair" is probably the better place.)

The binding is probably black Boltaron:

[IMG][/IMG]

https://www.stewmac.com/luthier-tool...c-binding.html