The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 03-12-2019, 07:06 PM

Default Another garage band question

Is it possible to vary the sounds on a specific track. I have a keyboard track that starts with "classic suitcase" and want the bridge to change to a "bright synth string" sound. Can't figure out if it's possible. Oh, and by the way, did I mention I'm a novice (if you couldn't already tell!)
THANKS
LK
Old 03-12-2019, 07:45 PM

Yes it's possible to do that in several ways. The easiest is if you just create another track and assign whatever instrument you want to it.
Old 03-13-2019, 09:27 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lkristians View Post
Is it possible to vary the sounds on a specific track. I have a keyboard track that starts with "classic suitcase" and want the bridge to change to a "bright synth string" sound. Can't figure out if it's possible. Oh, and by the way, did I mention I'm a novice (if you couldn't already tell!)
THANKS
LK
I think what you're asking is if you can assign different software instruments to different regions in the same track. As far as I know you can't but I'm not sure about that.
In any case it makes way more sense to do what runamuck suggests because you'll end up with complete control over your tracks in the editing and mixing stages.
Old 03-13-2019, 01:19 PM
Charter Member

I am a Mac guy but have never used GB
That said it would depend if GB has automation on the VI plugin itself and you can select different instruments as part of the automation
If not, then as per runamuck a second track (and if GB has at least track "mute" as an automation selection) And you already have the midi notes recorded ,,,, Then you can simply duplicate the track to a second track with the synth strings muted until the bridge, and have the classic suitcase mute at the bridge on the original track