The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 10-15-2019, 04:11 PM
AGF Sponsor

Default Slope Dreads: Interesting Article in Premier Guitar Mag

Howdy, All.

This popped up in my newsfeed today. Timely article.

https://www.premierguitar.com/articl...nought-revival

Last edited by Charmed Life Picks; 10-15-2019 at 06:57 PM.
Old 10-15-2019, 04:25 PM

Timely indeed. Going back to a recent debate about dreadnaughts and jumbos, does this article have the final word on the best description of the J-45?
Old 10-15-2019, 04:38 PM

Interesting. I grew up in the 70s musically and had no awareness of this shape at all. Then when I started playing again in the 2010s and people were talking about "slope shoulders" and I checked out some pictures I just thought they were hideous looking abominations. But now I'm at a point where I think I should maybe play one on one of these days.
Old 10-15-2019, 05:21 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmf View Post
Timely indeed. Going back to a recent debate about dreadnaughts and jumbos, does this article have the final word on the best description of the J-45?
No way.

The first 'Jumbo' was the Gibson SJ-200, also known and marketed as a J-200. As long as guitar makers and marketers continue to suborn the meaning of "jumbo" from 'large' to one involving a somewhat specific shape, usually involving an oversized lower bout, there will always be a debate about this. Sometimes jumbo has been tacked onto another entirely different shape.

And "dreadnought" derives it's name from a revolutionary class of battleship, 'HMS Dreadnought', 1906. It was the eighth ship to bear that name. All battleships since have been called 'dreadnoughts', and the word has also become synonymous with 'large'.