The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 05-23-2017, 08:14 AM

Default Travis picking: how long's it gonna take

I'm just learning this, and hoping the various YouTube vids will guide me.

How long before my fingers develop the rhythm and muscle memory?

Any tips?

Can one practice the rhythm without a guitar?
Old 05-23-2017, 08:21 AM
Charter Member

Could take a few days, could take much longer. Depends on your method of practicing it, how much you
practice it, natural ability, your background in music (i.e. play another instrument, etc.).

Tip: search the forum on this topic for the many prior threads that are there

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Old 05-23-2017, 08:26 AM

Chet Atkins said that it took him two years! Keep working at it. There area a few good videos on establishing the thumb rhythm. Toby Walker has some http://www.tobywalkerslessons.com/le...nger-pick.html as does Happy Traum https://www.homespun.com/shop/produc...-steady-thumb/. Good luck!

best,

Rick
Old 05-23-2017, 08:28 AM

I had a college roommate who taught me Travis fingerpicking starting back in 1965. He turned me onto Patrick Sky, Dave Van Ronk, PPM, Gary Davis, etc.

I worked at it hard and now, in 2017, I feel really comfortable with it. And, as with most players out there, I've developed my own personal iterations of it.

I guess my point is, I'm still learning it.
Old 05-23-2017, 08:39 AM

Learning continues. There's always more. That said...

My advice is to postpone critical evaluation or at least schedule it at predetermined intervals rather than doing it constantly or daily. Certainly you have to pay attention, but postpone judgement to give yourself time to "just work it out".