The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 08-08-2020, 07:31 AM

Default My Go To Electric Guitar is ...

What's your go to electric guitar? Mine changes over the months/years but the past year it's been my most plain looking, inexpensive, no one notices guitar... A Gibson SGJ, but it just rocks and can handle metal too.

What's yours?

Old 08-08-2020, 07:47 AM

My go to electric guitar, especially when playing at home, is my '67 Gibson ES335.

[/QUOTE]

When I was gigging, I found out that I played better standing up with my '95 Gibson Les Paul Special. And I do love the sound of P90s.

[/QUOTE]
'18 Martin GP-28E
'65 Epiphone Zenith archtop
Old 08-08-2020, 08:10 AM
Charter Member

I only have two. I've basically had a strat for the whole 42 years or so I've been playing electric. A strat is ALWAYS my number 1 and my go-to. The one I've had for the past few years, since I started playing a lot again, is a Robert Cray hardtail. I've tried a few other much more expensive guitars (including, most recently, a PRS Silver Sky), but they're all gone and the Cray is always here. I paid a grand total of $138 for it. I paid the full $925, but then the retailer I got it from had a 15% off sale a few weeks later, so I called to see if I could get that 15% refunded. They said sure, but accidentally refunded me 85% instead of 15%. I called them to alert them to their mistake, and they said they'd correct it, but they never did. Something about this guitar seemingly was meant to be. The only thing about this guitar that I liked plenty but never quite loved, was the C neck with rosewood board. So now I have a neck from a Classic Player 50's strat, which is beefier, has a soft-V profile, and a maple fretboard, all things I prefer. I paid more for the neck than I did for the guitar.