The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 04-07-2022, 09:25 PM

Default harmonics on a electric guitar

I'm new to electric guitars, I've always played acoustic. I'm having trouble getting clear harmonics on the 5th and 7th frets unless I engage the bridge pickup and play with both neck and bridge. My question, is this normal or do the pickups need adjusting also if it's normal how you would get harmonics on a guitar with just a neck pickup, I'm curious because I prefer just using the neck pickup for a jazzier mellow tone, I play fingerstyle, any Ideas would be much appreciated.

Last edited by bowelder; 04-07-2022 at 10:02 PM.
Old 04-07-2022, 10:10 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bowelder View Post
I'm new to electric guitars, I've always played acoustic. I'm having trouble getting clear harmonics on the 5th and 7th frets unless I engage the bridge pickup and play with both neck and bridge. My question, is this normal or do the pickups need adjusting also if it's normal how you would get harmonics on a guitar with just a neck pickup, I'm curious because I prefer just using the neck pickup for a jazzier mellow tone, I play fingerstyle, any Ideas would be much appreciated.
Hard to say without specifics. Are you loud enough? I find it's easier with just the bridge, but no reason you can't get what you want with the neck with practice. I wonder if mixing the two positions actually makes it harder? Try and see.

Random thoughts.
Old 04-07-2022, 10:35 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paleolith54 View Post
Hard to say without specifics. Are you loud enough? I find it's easier with just the bridge, but no reason you can't get what you want with the neck with practice. I wonder if mixing the two positions actually makes it harder? Try and see.

Random thoughts.