The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 12-11-2019, 09:40 AM

Default Guidance needed

I am not a musician and don’t know music theory. I just learn fingerstyle arrangements of the internet. I play at home, alone, hours a day for personal enjoyment. I can’t envision ever performing out.

Is there any reason to go beyond just learning songs? Am I missing something?

Thanks,

Russ
Old 12-11-2019, 09:45 AM

No - That is the Zen of guitar playing.
Old 12-11-2019, 10:02 AM

Agree with endpin I mean, what else does one do with a guitar other than play songs???

I've been playing for 50+ years, so if I'm missing something, I'd love to know what it is.

only advice I can give is keep challenging yourself by taking on more advanced pieces. as for performing, never say never...
Old 12-11-2019, 10:08 AM

Well, first of all, if you make music you're a musician.

It's really a matter of where do you see yourself in the future...

Would you like to eventually be able to arrange songs for fingerstyle yourself? Or are you content to play other people's arrangements?

That's what it really all comes down to. Personally, I find leaning more about the instrument to be a heck of a lot of fun. Others might not. There's room for both of us in the musical world.

http://www.youtube.com/user/jeffreymatz
Old 12-11-2019, 10:46 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjathon View Post
I am not a musician and don’t know music theory. I just learn fingerstyle arrangements of the internet. I play at home, alone, hours a day for personal enjoyment. I can’t envision ever performing out.

Thanks,

Russ
Theory is for:

1) playing with others and being able to talk to them about things using that vocabulary,
2) your own enjoyment and curiosity,
3) learning to play something which requires a certain amount of prerequisite knowledge or reading ability.