The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 08-26-2014, 07:51 PM

Default String Advice and strap question

Im brand new to classical guitar. I just purchased a J Navarro CN-61. I know that they are made in China but to me it sounds fine and im happy with it. Anyway I'm wanting to get new strings, it came with Savarez med tension. Im going to use the guitar for accompaniment myself singing mainly at church on slower hymns. I've read were perhaps a ball end dean markley may be my best bet. I'm not against buying strings. Just want to get a good string that will fit what im going to play. Also since they are no strap pins was thinking on getting the Levy-nylon uke/classical soundhole strap. Thats for advice.
Epiphone ej200 sce
J Navarro nc-61
Yamaha fg-730
Old 08-27-2014, 01:41 AM

Location: New Zealand, South Island, way down toward the bottom!

In my experience, Savarez make better strings than Markley, and in your position I might explore different string tensions within the Savarez brand than move to a different brand. If you're committed to a different brand, d'addario makes a number of different strings that are also better than the Markleys, and you might also have good luck with LaBella. I put my own strap buttons on a guitar a few years back for about $4, I never really liked the way those sound hole straps mount to the guitar - and cut into my neck (I had an old-school string one that surely has been superseded by something more comfy!).

Edit: forgot to mention that juststrings.com has a pretty solid range of strings for all sorts of nylon-playing people.
Old 08-27-2014, 02:54 AM

After my original post i read were labella 830 folk singer maybe good. Read that was what willie uses. Also would going to a higher tension be the direction to go if i stay with savarez.
Epiphone ej200 sce
J Navarro nc-61
Yamaha fg-730
Old 08-27-2014, 03:50 AM

Quote: