The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 11-14-2019, 12:48 PM

Default remedy for open center seam while building

Hi Everyone,

I have a building question about what to do, or do nothing?, about opened top seam while building. This is my first post so a preamble introduction I suppose my help also.

I have recently joined after many years of reading and learning here. I am a woodworker by trade and returned to hobby guitar making about 15 years ago and have done elec's and acoustics. By reading on inet and books I have been able to get to some competence but now have questions come up that could benefit from pro advice.

Last year I began a round of builds to push my skills as best I can. I now have necks blocked out and 4 boxes closed and other sides bent etc, using up woods I have collected. Now getting back to these this fall/winter.

I use wood heat to control my build climate and am fastidious about staying in 40-50% @70* +. But some times things must sit and thus some variation occurs in storage. Last year a top seam opened in one of these closed boxes during sierra summer where I live. It is tiny but runs tail to rosette it appears and closes at 50%, when RH drops it is visible but not 'open' per se, maybe .002"? Searching for answers didn't yield much info.

This one is EIR and adirondack slope dread braced per hd28 typical. Round shoulder because it's easier for my bending method and form type. Also of about 1 dozen acoustic builds this is the first opening during building which I assume is lack of full multi season drying cycles. My others have been sawn from sitka 6/4 and redwood I have had for a few decades now and no problems.