The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 12-30-2009, 03:48 AM

Default New to the Forum - aspiring luthier

I was PM'ed by someone who thought i posted in the wrong place so i'm posting my post into a new thread here. Hopefully it is in the right place. If not i'm sure someone will be able to move it where it needs to be or delete it? thanks

I've been lurking for a few days and have enjoyed in particular the Custom shop threads. I'm an aspiring luthier, taken a few violin making courses but have decided that i'm going to go in the direction of Guitars. At present i've been buying wood and getting ready for my first build. I've looked at so many different styles of guitars and it is so hard to decide what my first one should be.

I love some of Benedetto's guitars, but i don't want to do an arched one for my first one. So i'm designing one from scratch. I've seen some ideas i'd like to incorporate into my own guitar on this forum and hope that sorta thing is ok?

Any how I'd like to thank all the people who have posted their creations in the forum here whether they made them themselves or had them made.
I was wondering if there were any good books to get a fella going in the right direction?
Old 12-30-2009, 07:52 AM

Welcome! (I'm new here too!)

I'm planning to build a guitar myself inspired by some of what I've read here and by this guy: http://acousticguitarbuild.blogspot.com/

I've read really good things about Cumpiano's book - Guitarmaking

This is his website which also has some good information http://www.cumpiano.com/

If I had the money I'd go and take a course from a professional. Alas I do not but I'm going to try this anyways. If I end up with a total dud then I still have more than I started with plus a bunch of lessons learned.
Old 12-30-2009, 08:26 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oylerz View Post