The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 05-08-2021, 12:27 PM

Default Acoustic Cutaway

Greetings,
I am pretty new to playing the guitar and am wondering about cutaways on acoustic guitars. I understand that one can access further up the fretboard easier with a cutaway but does the cutaway affect how the guitar sounds?
I have not seen many guitars with cutaways at the Bluegrass festivals we have attended the past several years.
If this has been covered before, please point me in the direction of that thread.
I did not find it when I used the search function.
Thank you
Old 05-08-2021, 12:28 PM

There’s some say that there is a slight difference in sound if you’re using instruments to measure those things. But in real world use you can’t tell the difference.
Old 05-08-2021, 12:34 PM
Charter Member

I think that's mostly personal opinion, but I once had a well-known luthier tell me cutaways reduced total sound by 15%. Whether or not that can actually be heard may vary.
Old 05-08-2021, 12:43 PM

Hey Charli, lots of bluegrass players are traditionalists so you won't see as many cutaways as you might in another genre of music.

I think if you want to access those upper frets then try out some cutaways. I've read many different opinions on tonal impacts but I've always thought (perhaps incorrectly) that if there's an impact it is minimal.
Old 05-08-2021, 12:57 PM

My opinion does not have strong basis as I do not play Bluegrass, but here is my two cents :

Bluegrass would use mostly dreadnough for bigger sound and the player
would not go far up the neck : A cutaway, making the guitar more expensive,
would not be useful.

Fingerstyle players would use smaller orchestra guitar and would climb up
the neck to have access to all scales, so a cutaway is quite a must. In addition,
as orchestra models would project less than dreadnough, they generally leave