The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 04-25-2021, 03:37 PM

Default Okay, it's all your fault....lol

Been throwing around the idea of trying my hand at building an acoustic guitar for years. I read everything that I can on the topic, and watch countless youtube vids. So I just finished ordering a dread kit from Stewmac. It has Sitka Spruce top and Khaya Mahogany back and sides. Mahogany neck.

I've been a custom gunstock builder for 40 years. Shaping, inletting, relief carvings, checkering, inlays etc. Also spent alot of years as a finish carpenter and custom cabinet builder.

I plan on making most of the tools needed to build the acoustic, and go fairly old school on the build. I know I will prob end up purchasing some items, but hope it will be minimal.

I'll try and post pics of the journey and keep count of how many curse words are involved.

Will prob be asking for some advice and wisdom along the way.

Bull
Old 04-25-2021, 04:40 PM

Great fun, I started with a StewMac kit. Proceed with everything using ample care, caution, patience and a certain amount of healthy paranoia. Anything can and does go wrong sometimes.
Old 04-25-2021, 07:27 PM

Good luck. I'm a big fan of the slogan, 'Just do it!' Don't overthink anything and don't get hung up on details that are outside of your experience in building guitars because after all this is your first one so you have none. Also don't expect to build a perfect guitar. Your first guitar is a lesson and nothing more, if you slip with a chisel and make a mark just move on and keep going. But you can build a decent guitar, even a really good one with a little luck and a lot of patience. Heck I'm still trying after 70 so....
Old 04-25-2021, 08:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildbill1962 View Post