The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 08-10-2022, 04:36 PM

Default NUGD: 2004 Taylor 814 (plus a couple questions!)

I found a heck of a deal on a consignment 2004 Taylor 814 (no c, no e, which is good because I'm not a cutaway guy) at a local shop. They accepted my lowball offer, and now it is mine. As a humble librarian, I had never even entertained the thought of owning an 814. The J-15 I got for my 40th birthday a couple years ago was about it as far as my budget goes. But I sold/am in the process of selling several other guitars for this 814 because after playing it a few times in the shop, it seemed like a once in a lifetime opportunity. It did not come with a pickguard, so I will probably get one from Holter. He did a great job with a custom guard for the J-15.

My trusty 114 has stuck around all these years where some 300/400-series Taylors have been sold on, as well as some other comparably-priced Martins. There just wasn't enough difference in sound between those and the 114 to justify keeping them around. Not so with this 814! After just a few strums I "got it". Like, oh, this is why I've heard the 814 called their flagship guitar. Came back a few times a week apart to see if I was just fooling myself, A/B'd it with the 114. There is definitely a stark difference.

Anyway, a question: my 114 has 12's on it and my J-15 and past dreads have 13's. The shop restrung this for me but used 11's instead of 12's. I presume this 814 can handle 12's, but I want to make sure because I don't want to do anything to mess this one up.