The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 07-16-2016, 03:35 PM
Guest 33123

Default Triple Threat Review from an acoustic amplification neophyte's perspective

Hi guys,

so I've entered the acoustic amplification fray recently and would like to offer a neophyte's review of the gear I'm using now.

Background:
I've been playing for 30 years with last 15 solely acoustic. I bare-fingerpick Piedmont-style blues, ragtime and gospel. No strumming. In 2012 I grabbed a Gibson J-45 Standard with the stock L.R. Baggs Element Active System. I didn't have an amp until earlier this year when I picked up a Fender Acoustic SFX amp. Last week I grabbed a L.R. Baggs Para Acoustic D.I.

Signal Chain:
Gibson J-45 Standard with L.R. Element Active System -> 10 foot cable -> L.R. Baggs Para Acoustic D.I. -> 10 foot cable -> Fender Acoustic SFX Amp

Review:
I'm going to review the signal chain as a whole since I don't have other A/E guitars, preamps or amps to A/B with. In 2012, my purchase of the J-45 was based purely on the guitar's acoustic tone and feel. I did try the pickup to make sure it worked. Fast forward to 2016. I suddenly felt the need to amplify on occasion for some bizarre reason. I did some research and eventually tried the SFX amp at a store with my J-45 long enough and loud enough to realize I liked it well enough. Admittedly the aesthetics with the bent wood cabinet sucked me in too. But honestly up to that point I had very little acoustic amplification experience other than trying out some Fishman Loudboxes. Nothing extensive by a long shot. I brought the amp home and over the past months I have been experimenting with guitar and amp settings at full volume (prior to purchasing the preamp) with the Stereo SFX control turned up to max and the reverb set at 9 o'clock (no other effects).